Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors of the Santa Clarita Valley Water Agency – April 16, 2019

A regular meeting of the Board of Directors of the Santa Clarita Valley Water Agency was held at the Santa Clarita Valley Water Agency, 27234 Bouquet Canyon Road, Santa Clarita, CA 91350, at 6:30 PM on Tuesday, April 16, 2019. A copy of the Agenda is inserted in the Minute Book of the Agency preceding these minutes.

DIRECTORS PRESENT:	Tom Campbell, Ed Colley, Kathy Colley, Robert DiPrimio, Jerry Gladbach (arrived at 7:00 PM), Maria Gutzeit, R. J. Kelly, Dan Mortensen and Lynne Plambeck.

DIRECTORS ABSENT: Dante Acosta, William Cooper and Gary Martin.

Also present: Matthew Stone, General Manager; Joseph Byrne, General Counsel; April Jacobs, Board Secretary; Steve Cole, Assistant General Manager; Eric Campbell, Chief Financial and Administrative Officer; Brian Folsom, Chief Engineer; Rochelle Patterson, Director of Finance and Administration; Dirk Marks, Director of Water Resources; Mike Alvord, Director of Operations and Maintenance; Cris Perez, Director of Tech Services; Amy Aguer, Controller; Elizabeth Ooms-Graziano, Retail Administrative Officer; Kim Grass, Senior Management Analyst; Brent Payne, Principal Engineer Distribution Design; Kathie Martin, Public Information Officer; Rene Ponce, IT Technician; Terri Bell, Administrative Assistant; and a member of the public.

Vice President Gutzeit called the meeting to order at 6:31 PM. A quorum was present.

Upon motion of Director Mortensen, seconded by Director K. Colley and carried, the Agenda was approved by the following electronic votes (Item 4):

Director Acosta	Absent	Director Atkins	Yes
Director Campbell	Yes	Director E. Colley	Yes
Director K. Colley	Yes	President Cooper	Absent
Director DiPrimio	Yes	Director Gladbach	Not Present
Vice President Gutzeit	Yes	Director Kelly	Yes
Vice President Martin	Absent	Director Mortensen	Yes
Director Plambeck	Yes		

Upon motion of Director E. Colley, seconded by Director K. Colley and carried, the Board approved the Consent Calendar by the following electronic votes (Item 5):

Director Acosta	Absent	Director Atkins	Yes
Director Campbell	Yes	Director E. Colley	Yes
Director K. Colley	Yes	President Cooper	Absent
Director DiPrimio	Yes	Director Gladbach	Not Present
Vice President Gutzeit	Yes	Director Kelly	Yes
Vice President Martin	Absent	Director Mortensen	Yes
Director Plambeck	Yes		

Staff gave a presentation to the Board on the FY 2019/20 and FY 2020/21 Biennial Budget. The Board then reviewed and discussed the draft FY 2019/20 and FY 2020/21 Biennial Budget. Minutes of April 16, 2019 Page 2 of 3

The Board asked for clarification on the terminology used in the Budget, such as reserves, cash, unrestricted reserves and unrestricted cash. The Board also requested that staff go back to the Finance and Administration Committee and clarify how the Facility Capacity Fees relate to the 1% Property Tax Fund. Director Campbell wanted to make sure that a forecast was included in the Budget (Item 6).

There was no President Report given (Item 7).

AB 1234 Reports (Item 8).

There were no AB 1234 Reports.

There were no Director Reports (Item 9).

There were no requests for approval for event attendance (Item 10).

Upon motion of Director E. Colley, seconded by Director Gladbach and carried, the Board went into Closed Session at 7:49 PM to discuss the items listed on the Agenda by the following electronic votes (Item 11):

Director Acosta	Absent	Director Atkins	Yes
Director Campbell	Yes	Director E. Colley	Yes
Director K. Colley	Yes	President Cooper	Absent
Director DiPrimio	Yes	Director Gladbach	Yes
Vice President Gutzeit	Yes	Director Kelly	Yes
Vice President Martin	Absent	Director Mortensen	Yes
Director Plambeck	Yes		

Upon motion of Director E. Colley, seconded by Director Kelly and carried, the Board voted to come out of Closed Session at 8:08 PM by the following electronic votes (Item 11):

Director Acosta	Absent	Director Atkins	Yes
Director Campbell	Yes	Director E. Colley	Yes
Director K. Colley	Yes	President Cooper	Absent
Director DiPrimio	Yes	Director Gladbach	Yes
Vice President Gutzeit	Yes	Director Kelly	Yes
Vice President Martin	Absent	Director Mortensen	Yes
Director Plambeck	Yes		

Vice President Gutzeit reconvened the Open Session at 8:08 PM.

Joe Byrne, Esq., reported that there were no actions taken in Closed Session that were reportable under the Ralph M. Brown Act (Item 12).

Minutes of April 16, 2019 Page 3 of 3

Director Kelly requested that the Directors Compensation item be brought back to the Board at the April 30, 2019 special Board meeting for reconsideration (Item 13).

Upon motion of Director Mortensen, seconded by Director Gladbach and carried, the meeting was adjourned at 8:14 PM by the following electronic votes (Item 14):

Director Acosta Director Campbell Director K. Colley Director DiPrimio Vice President Gutzeit Vice President Martin Director Plambeck Absent Yes Yes Yes Absent Yes

Director Atkins Director E. Colley President Cooper Director Gladbach Director Kelly Director Mortensen Yes Yes Absent Yes Yes Yes

April Jacobs, Board Secretary

ATTEST:

vans President of the Board

