Minutes of the Special Meeting of the Board of Directors of the Santa Clarita Valley Water Agency – October 27, 2021

A special meeting of the Board of Directors of the Santa Clarita Valley Water Agency was held via teleconference at 6:30 PM on Wednesday, October 27, 2021. A copy of the Agenda is inserted in the Minute Book of the Agency preceding these minutes.

DIRECTORS PRESENT:

Kathye Armitage, B. J. Atkins, Beth Braunstein, Ed Colley, William

Cooper, Jeff Ford, Jerry Gladbach, R. J. Kelly, Gary Martin, Dan

Mortensen, Piotr Orzechowski and Lynne Plambeck via

teleconference.

DIRECTORS ABSENT:

None.

Also present via teleconference: General Manager Matthew Stone, General Counsel Tom Bunn and Joe Byrne, Board Secretary April Jacobs, Assistant General Manager Steve Cole, Director of Finance and Administration Rochelle Patterson, Communications Manager Kathie Martin, Customer Service Manager Kathleen Willson, Principal Engineer Jason Yim, Executive Assistant Leticia Quintero, Administrative Technician Terri Bell, National Demographics Corporation Consultant Douglas Johnson, and members of the public.

President Martin called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM. A quorum was present.

Upon motion of Vice President Mortensen, seconded by Director Atkins and carried, the Board approved the Agenda by the following roll call votes (Item 4):

Director Armitage	Yes	Director Atkins	Yes
Director Braunstein	Yes	Director Colley	Yes
Director Cooper	Yes	Director Ford	Yes
Vice President Gladbach	Yes	Director Kelly	Yes
President Martin	Yes	Vice President Mortensen	Yes
Director Orzechowski	Yes	Director Plambeck	Yes

Assistant General Manager Steve Cole, General Counsel Joe Byrne and National Demographics Corporation Consultant Douglas Johnson gave a presentation on the 2021 redistricting. The Board had an extensive discussion on the redistricting process and the new census data. Consistent with the Elections Code, this matter will be brought back to the Board in January 2022 for further consideration (Item 5).

The meeting was adjourned at 7:45 PM (Item 6).

April Jacobs, Board Secretary

ATTEST:

President of the Board