Minutes of the Special Meeting of the Board of Directors of the Santa Clarita Valley Water Agency – August 29, 2022

A special meeting of the Board of Directors of the Santa Clarita Valley Water Agency was held at Santa Clarita Valley Water Agency 27234 Bouquet Canyon Road, Santa Clarita, CA 91350 on Monday, August 29, 2022. A copy of the Agenda is inserted in the Minute Book of the Agency preceding these minutes.

DIRECTORS PRESENT: Kathye Armitage, Beth Braunstein, Ed Colley, William Cooper,

Jeff Ford, Maria Gutzeit, R. J. Kelly (Via Zoom), Gary Martin, Piotr

Orzechowski and Lynne Plambeck.

DIRECTORS ABSENT: None.

Also present: Board Secretary April Jacobs, Chief Financial and Administrative Officer Rochelle Patterson, General Counsel Tom Bunn (Via Zoom) and Joe Byrne, General Manager Matthew Stone, Information Technology Technician I Jonathan Thomas, as well as additional SCV Water Agency staff and members of the public.

President Martin called the meeting to order at 5:01 PM. A quorum was present.

There were no changes to the August 29, 2022 Amended Board Agenda and it was approved as shown (Item 4).

President Martin announced the procedures for the interview process, which are included as part of the record.

President Martin began the interview process at 5:07 PM. There were 11 candidates interviewed and all were in person but one who participated via Zoom (Item 5.1).

At 6:45 PM there was a short recess with the Board reconvening at 7:05 PM to complete the interview process.

Ranking sheets were collected and President Martin called for a recess at 8:08 PM to allow the Board Secretary time to tally the ranking sheets.

The meeting was called back to order at 8:22 PM and the Board Secretary announced the top three candidates in order of highest ranking:

- Ken Petersen Top Candidate score of 19
- Stacy Fortner, Eric Adair and Philip Denlea Three-way tie of 9

The Board then asked follow-up questions of the top 4 Candidates.

Once again, the ranking sheets were collected and President Martin called for a recess at 9:02 PM to allow the Board Secretary to tally the ranking sheets.

The meeting was called back to order at 9:14 PM and the Board Secretary announced the results of the ranking of the top two candidates:

- Ken Petersen Score of 20
- Philip Denlea Score of 16

Upon motion of Director Cooper, seconded by Director Kelly and carried by a vote of 7 Yes's, 2 No's and 1 Abstained, the Board seated Ken Petersen as the appointed Division 3 Director to complete the vacancy term which expires on January 1, 2025, subject to verification of minimum requirements by the following roll call votes (majority vote of 6 needed) (Item 5.2):

Director Armitage	Abstain	Director Braunstein	No
Director Colley	Yes	Director Cooper	Yes
Director Ford	Yes	Director Gutzeit	Yes
Director Kelly	Yes	President Martin	Yes
Vice President Orzechowski	Yes	Director Plambeck	No

Upon motion of Director Plambeck, seconded by Director Gutzeit and carried, by a vote of 9 Yes's and 1 Abstained, the Board appointed Philip Denlea as the alternate Candidate, should the main Candidate fail to complete the process or meet the minimum requirements and qualifications to hold office by the following roll call votes (majority vote of 6 needed) (Item 5.2):

Director Armitage	Abstain	Director Braunstein	Yes
Director Colley	Yes	Director Cooper	Yes
Director Ford	Yes	Director Gutzeit	Yes
Director Kelly	Yes	President Martin	Yes
Vice President Orzechowski	Yes	Director Plambeck	Yes

The meeting was adjourned at 9:21 PM (Item 6).

April Jacobs, Board Secretary

ATTEST:

Vice President of the Board

